top of page

Press area

recycling
Image by AbsolutVision

Welcome to our press area

Plastic recycling - added value of EcoFlakes: Around 65% of recycled plastic in Europe is currently simply incinerated - with high CO2 emissions. The reason for this is that plastics can only be recycled cheaply if the individual types of plastic are cleanly separated (technical term: at least 98 percent pure granulate). With around two thirds of the plastic recyclate produced, it is currently too time-consuming or too expensive to separate the materials accordingly. Ecopals has therefore deliberately developed EcoFlakes in such a way that they are made from a combination of different plastics. This combination can be extracted relatively easily from the part of our plastic waste that has not yet been recycled.

 

 

Advantages of EcoFlakes:

  • Roads become more durable (up to 50 percent compared to non-modified bitumen)

  • Between 3 and 10 percent of the CO2-intensive petroleum product bitumen can be saved

  • Bitumen, which accounts for the majority of material costs, becomes cheaper (up to 20%)

  • For the production of EcoFlakes, Ecopals cooperates with recyclers who are located as close as possible to the respective construction sites so that "regional waste" can be used. This saves further transportation costs and therefore further emissions.

ecopals – from garbage to the street

Background: In around a third of the roads built in Germany, the asphalt binding agent bitumen contains additional plastics (technical term: polymer-modified bitumen). The reason for this is that these plastics make the roads more resilient and durable. But this also has a major disadvantage: Across the entire supply chain, asphalt with polymer-modified bitumen produces around 20 percent more CO2.

Ecoflakes as a solution: Across Europe, more than 19 million tons of plastics are not recycled every year, but simply burned. Ecopals has therefore developed a process together with the Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology and the University of Kassel to modify previously unrecycled plastics so that they

can be used in asphalt. This saves CO2 because new plastics no longer have to be produced to make the asphalt more stable. At the same time, less plastic waste is burned.

 ecopals Pressekit

deutsch
english

make contact

Vielen Dank für die Nachricht! 
bottom of page

top of page

Pressebereich

Recycling
Image by AbsolutVision

Willkommen in unserem Pressebereich

Kunststoff-Recycling – Mehrwert der EcoFlakes: Rund 65 Prozent des Recycling- Kunststoffs in Europa wird aktuell einfach verbrannt – mit hohen CO2-Emissionen. Der Grund dafür ist, dass Kunststoffe nur dann günstig recycelt werden können, wenn die einzelnen Kunststoffarten gut trennbar sind, d.h. mit einer Reinheit von zu mindestens 98 Prozent. Bei rund zwei Dritteln des anfallenden Kunststoffes ist es aktuell zu aufwändig bzw. zu teuer, die Stoffe nach Nutzung entsprechend zu trennen. Ecopals hat deshalb die EcoFlakes bewusst so entwickelt, dass sie aus einer Kombination verschiedener Kunststoffe hergestellt werden. Diese Kombination kann relativ einfach aus dem bisher nicht recycelten Teil unseres Kunststoffmülls extrahiert werden.

Vorteile der EcoFlakes:

  • Straßen werden langlebiger (bis zu 50 Prozent im Vergleich zu nicht- modifiziertem Bitumen)

  • Zwischen 3 und 10 Prozent des CO2-intensiven Erdölprodukts Bitumen können eingespart werden

  • Das Bitumen, das einen Großteil der Materialkosten ausmacht, wird günstiger (bis zu 20%)

  • Ecopals kooperiert für die Produktion der EcoFlakes mit Recyclern, die möglichst nah an den jeweiligen Baustellen angesiedelt sind. So produzieren wir regional und sparen weite Transporte und damit weitere Emissionen.

ecopals – vom Müll zur Straße

Hintergrund: Bei rund einem Drittel der Straßen, die in Deutschland gebaut werden, enthält das Asphalt-Bindemittel Bitumen zusätzliche Kunststoffe (Fachbegriff: polymermodifiziertes Bitumen). Grund dafür ist, dass diese Kunststoffe die Straßen belastbarer und haltbarer machen. Das hat aber auch einen großen Nachteil: Über die gesamte Lieferkette verursacht Asphalt mit polymermodifiziertem Bitumen rund 20 Prozent mehr CO2. 

EcoFlakes als Lösung: In ganz Europa werden pro Jahr mehr als 19 Millionen Tonnen Kunststoffe nicht recycelt, sondern einfach verbrannt. Ecopals hat deshalb zusammen mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für Chemische Technologie und der Universität Kassel ein Verfahren entwickelt, um bisher nicht recycelte Kunststoffe so zu modifizieren, dass sie in Asphalt eingesetzt werden können. Das spart CO2, weil so keine neuen Kunststoffe mehr produziert werden müssen, um den Asphalt stabiler zu machen. Gleichzeitig wird weniger Kunststoffmüll verbrannt.

 ecopals Pressekit

deutsch
english

Kontakt aufnehmen

Vielen Dank für die Nachricht! 
bottom of page