top of page
Garbage-EcoFlakes-Asphalt.png

Innovation

Reducing costs and saving COwith EcoFlakes

In around a third of the roads built in Germany, the asphalt binder bitumen contains additional plastics (technical term: polymer-modified bitumen). The reason for this is that these plastics make the roads more resilient and durable. However, this also has a major disadvantage: across the entire supply chain, asphalt with polymer-modified bitumen produces around 20 percent more CO2. For every tonne of asphalt, this is equivalent to driving around the entire Berlin ring road by car.

 

Ecoflakes as a solution

Throughout Europe, more than 19 million tons of plastics are not recycled every year, but simply incinerated. Ecopals, together with the Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology and the University of Kassel, has therefore developed a process to modify previously unrecycled plastics so that they can be used in asphalt. This saves CO2 because new plastics no longer have to be produced to make the asphalt more stable. At the same time, less plastic waste is incinerated.

Plastic recycling - the added value of Ecoflakes

Around 65 percent of recycled plastic in Europe is currently simply incinerated - with high CO2 emissions. The reason for this is that plastics can only be recycled cheaply if the individual types of plastic are cleanly separated (technical term: at least 98 percent pure granulate). With around two thirds of the plastic recyclate produced, it is currently too time-consuming or too expensive to separate the materials accordingly. Ecopals has therefore deliberately developed the Ecoflakes in such a way that they are made from a combination of different plastics. This combination can be extracted relatively easily from the part of our plastic waste that has not yet been recycled.
Text

eco

Flakes

In order for the strict regulations to allow use in Germany, our aim in product development was to develop an exactly equivalent PmB. We succeeded in doing this. In all common performance tests, for example in the context of initial tests for road construction measures that are carried out on bitumen or ready-mixed asphalt, EcoFlakes are within the specified tolerance ranges.

If you are interested in our test results and technical information, please contact us using the contact form below or directly on LinkedIn.

Pilot projects thanks to partnerships

People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who actually do.


The fact that EcoFlakes are now a real alternative to virgin plastics in road construction is largely thanks to our partners and supporters. Our product development would not have been possible without the expertise and enthusiasm of the asphalt experts who have been supporting ecopals for years. The industry experts and sponsors who believed in our idea and opened doors for us have also contributed significantly to our success. Moreover, our innovation could not have been realized without the courageous clients who were prepared to break new ground and commit to greater sustainability. Special thanks also go to our partners from the recycling industry, who had the courage to try out new things, invest in innovations and commit to burning less valuable plastics.

 

Today, our EcoFlakes are an established technology in road construction. We would therefore like to thank our many supporters.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

Our network

Recycler

Straßen- bauer

+++ under construction +++

Labore

Förder- programme

make contact

We look forward to a possible collaboration.

  • LinkedIn
Danke für die Nachricht!
bottom of page

top of page
Müll-EcoFlakes-Asphalt.png

Innovation

Kosten senken und CO2 sparen
mit EcoFlakes

Bei rund einem Drittel der Straßen, die in Deutschland gebaut werden, enthält das Asphalt-Bindemittel Bitumen zusätzliche Kunststoffe (Fachbegriff: polymermodifiziertes Bitumen). Grund dafür ist, dass diese Kunststoffe die Straßen belastbarer und haltbarer machen. Das hat aber auch einen großen Nachteil: Über die gesamte Lieferkette verursacht Asphalt mit polymermodifiziertem Bitumen rund 20 Prozent mehr CO2. Das entspricht mit jeder Tonne Asphalt einer Fahrt um den gesamten Berliner Autobahnring mit dem PKW.

EcoFlakes als Lösung

In ganz Europa werden pro Jahr mehr als 19 Millionen Tonnen Kunststoffe nicht recycelt, sondern einfach verbrannt. Ecopals hat deshalb zusammen mit dem Fraunhofer Institut für Chemische Technologie und der Universität Kassel ein Verfahren entwickelt, um bisher nicht recycelte Kunststoffe so zu modifizieren um diese im Asphalt einzusetzen. Das spart CO2, weil so keine neuen Kunststoffe mehr produziert werden müssen, um den Asphalt stabiler zu machen. Gleichzeitig wird weniger Kunststoffmüll verbrannt.

Mehrwert durch Kunststoff-Recycling

Rund 65 Prozent des Recycling-Kunststoffs in Europa wird aktuell einfach verbrannt – mit hohen CO2-Emissionen. Der Grund dafür ist, dass Kunststoffe nur dann günstig recycelt werden können, wenn die einzelnen Kunststoffarten sauber trennbar sind (Fachsprache: zu mindestens 98 Prozent reines Granulat). Bei rund zwei Dritteln des anfallenden Kunststoff-Rezyklats ist es aktuell zu aufwändig bzw. zu teuer, die Stoffe entsprechend zu trennen. Ecopals hat deshalb die EcoFlakes so entwickelt, dass sie aus dem bisher nicht recycelten Teil unseres Kunststoffmülls hergestellt werden.

eco

Flakes

Damit das Regelwerk den Einsatz in Deutschland zulässt, war es unser Bestreben in der Produktentwicklung einen gleichwertigen Ersatz für Neukunststoffe zu entwickeln. Das ist uns gelungen. In sämtlichen Asphalt-Performance Tests, im Rahmen von Erst- oder Kontrollprüfungen und Bitumenuntersuchungen, erreichen die EcoFlakes die Werte von herkömmlichen PmBs.

Bei Interesse an unseren Untersuchungsergebnissen kontaktiere uns gerne in dem unten eingeblendeten Kontaktformular oder direkt auf LinkedIn.

Pilotprojekte dank Partnerschaften

Menschen, die verrückt genug sind zu denken, sie könnten die Welt verändern, sind diejenigen, die es tatsächlich tun.

Dass EcoFlakes heute eine echte Alternative zu Neukunststoffen im Straßenbau sind, verdanken wir maßgeblich unseren Partnern und Unterstützern. Ohne das Fachwissen und den Enthusiasmus der Asphaltexperten, die ecopals seit Jahren begleiten, wäre unsere Produktentwicklung nicht möglich gewesen. Auch die Industriexperten und Förderer, die an unsere Idee geglaubt und uns Türen geöffnet haben, haben wesentlich zu unserem Erfolg beigetragen. Unsere Innovation hätte zudem nicht realisiert werden können ohne die mutigen Auftraggeber, die bereit waren, neue Wege zu gehen und sich für mehr Nachhaltigkeit einzusetzen. Ein besonderer Dank gilt auch unseren Partnern aus der Recyclingindustrie, die den Mut hatten, Neues auszuprobieren, in Innovationen zu investieren und sich dafür einsetzten, weniger wertvolle Kunststoffe zu verbrennen.

Heute sind unsere EcoFlakes eine etablierte Technologie im Straßenbau. Dafür möchten wir uns daher herzlich bei unseren zahlreichen Unterstützern bedanken.

Unser Partnernetzwerk

Recycler

Straßen- bauer

+++ under construction +++

Labore

Förder- programme

Kontakt aufnehmen

Wir freuen uns über eine mögliche Zusammenarbeit.

  • LinkedIn
Danke für die Nachricht!
bottom of page